jDownloadsownloads.com

Author Topic: Uploads fails when use the backend PLUPLOAD method  (Read 855 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
File uploads are not working. The progress bar shows the upload process but it fails with a yellow triangle icon. The hover text over the icon is "HTTP Error". There are no other error messages on the page.

I read somewhere that it might have something to do with Joomla 3.7, and the order of something loading, but I can't find that post anymore for some reason. The answer for that post included a suggestion to load DJ-jQueryMonster, but the plugin completely trashed my site and I had to restore from backup.

I tried selecting all the different options under "Uploader runtime". HTML 5 shows the error state. The HTML4 version shows success but the file isn't there. All the rest would not load.

How can I resolve this issue?

 - Joomla! 3.9.25
 - PHP 7.3.27
 - MySQLi 5.7.32-35-log
 - jDownloads Version 3.2.65 and 3.9.7.3

Thanks
« Last Edit: 07.04.2021 00:27:19 by Arno »

Offline ColinM

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3.975
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #1 on: 29.03.2021 16:13:24 »
Hi
Is this an upload from the front end or the backendFrom memory I do not recall seeing a progress bar!
Could you please advise what setting you have in Options- Upload Tab
Colin

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #2 on: 29.03.2021 17:57:38 »
I'm uploading from the back end.

Options set:

Uploader Runtime: All Runtimes
Maximun File Size(MB) 10
Chunk Size: 0
Unit for Chunk Size: Megabyte
Allowed Image Extensions: gif,png,jpg,jpeg,GIF,PNG,JPG,JPEG
Other allowed File Extensions: zip,rar,pdf,doc,txt,ZIP,RAR,PDF,DOC,DOCX,TXT,xlsx,mp3,ico,svg,vsd
Enable File Rename, Unique Names, Enable Image Resizing, and Show Uploader Log: No

I added a screen shot of the options.

There is a % progress up by the files and a progress bar at the bottom. I added screen shots of the progress and the failed screen as well.

Thank you

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #3 on: 29.03.2021 21:55:01 »
Sorry - just realized I uploaded the fail screen capture twice. Here is the progress capture

Offline ColinM

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3.975
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #4 on: 01.04.2021 15:48:29 »
Hi
I see that you are uploading a file that is 7.2 Mbyte in size.
The maximum allowed size in the jD setup is given as 10 Mbyte and  in your PHP.ini file as 256 Mbyte.  Could you also check post_max_size which is usually slightly largerAlso suggest you reduce the max_file_size to 128M as that is wheremost sites seem to have the setting - maybe 256M causes a problem.  Personally I use 100Mbyte

In addition there is an upload_max_filesize limit in php.ini so could you also check that.
I have just tested an uplaod of 7Mbyte OK and got a tick where you have a error sign!!
So I think it is a setting somewhere in the php.ini file - or maybe you do not have sufficient web site space.
Colin

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #5 on: 01.04.2021 16:08:46 »
I will make some size adjustments per your recommendations, but the only reason I was using such a large file was so I can screen capture the progress screen. The small uploads progress too fast to capture. All file uploads fail regardless of file size or file type. Most of our uploads are around 500K to 1M. and are mostly PDF files.

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #6 on: 01.04.2021 18:06:16 »
I set the Maximum File Size (MB) set to 128. The post_max_size and upload_max_filesize are both currently set to 256M but are not editable. The file size settings have not changed in quite a while. I verified we still have 11.89 GB of free space.

Uploads, both big and small, PDF and image, are still failing.

Offline Arno

  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 12.357
    • jDownloads.com
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #7 on: 03.04.2021 12:00:44 »
Hi,
normally works this upload option for the most users without any problems.
But from time to time a user posted a problem like yours. The reason is mostly server settings or wrong permissions. I will try to find some other older topics to this issue.

You have no problems to upload files with the normal way? I mean when you edit (or create) a Download and select in this form a file for upload?

By the way, when you visit the backend from our demo installation here:

https://www.jdownloads.org/administrator/   
(use demo / demo as login data)

you will see that everything works as expected with the upload script. So the problem must have to do with your server.
« Last Edit: 03.04.2021 12:15:43 by Arno »
Best Regards / Gruß
Arno
Please make a Donation for jDownloads and/or write a review on the Joomla! Extensions directory!

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #8 on: 03.04.2021 16:57:22 »
The "normal way" does work but it isn't our normal process flow. We have been using jDownloads for many years without problems. Our hosting provider did change our server which initially broke our installation but I was able to get it working by updating the path. It has been working fine for a few months up to a couple weeks ago. I would think any other server issues would have happened when we moved to the new server. Any suggestions on what to do next? I'm fairly technical but not a developer so I would appreciate any suggestions.

Offline Arno

  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 12.357
    • jDownloads.com
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #9 on: 05.04.2021 13:59:14 »
You could try this:
http://www.jdownloads.com/forum/index.php?topic=11464.msg43169#msg43169

Please note that we have not changed here anything in the last months. We use always the same (free) PLUPLOAD Javascript.
Best Regards / Gruß
Arno
Please make a Donation for jDownloads and/or write a review on the Joomla! Extensions directory!

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #10 on: 06.04.2021 00:27:15 »
Well, ok. That was the solution that trashed my site so that isn't going to work. Are there any logs or debugging that can point to a potential cause? The browser console is showing a 500 error with "Referrer Policy: strict-origin-when-cross-origin", but it looks pretty generic to me. I was hoping to hone in on a more specific answer.

Offline ColinM

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3.975
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #11 on: 06.04.2021 17:15:31 »
Hithe HTML Referrer Policy: strict-origin-when-cross-origin is now the default setting if you have no policy set. Previously it was "no-referer-when-downgrade".  This change came in on November 2020 which would liner up with the hosting site 'upgade'.   I suggest that you set a policy of  "no-referer-when-downgrade".
It seems the diferences between the two is small but significant.  Suppose your site is https:://yoursite.com and you linking from 'yourpage'.  That is you are linking from a location https:://yoursite.com/yourpage to a remote site https:://remotesite.com/remotepage
then policy
 "no-referer-when-downgrade" replies to location https:://yoursite.com/yourpage  That is to the location that initiated the the link.But policy "strict-origin-when-cross-origin" would reply to location https:://yoursite.com/  That is to the site root!!! 

Note that if it is an internal reference then both policies return to location https:://yoursite.com/yourpage  That is no problem with internal links but challenges with external links.
I took all of the above from
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTTP/Headers/Referrer-Policy#integration_with_htmland put it into what I think is a slightly more understandable form.
 Not sure how to set these 'policies'

Colin

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads Fail
« Reply #12 on: 06.04.2021 18:39:37 »
Ok, this is some good information. I'll work with this to see what I can figure out.

Thanks for your help.

Offline chepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uploads fails when use the backend PLUPLOAD method
« Reply #13 on: 12.04.2021 01:39:16 »
Well, I give up. I was hoping I could reply back with a solution in the event someone else ran into the same problem. Installing JDownloads on a new instance of Joomla on the same server works fine, so there is a mis-configuration in my Joomla install somewhere on my production site I can't find.

Thanks for the help.

Offline ColinM

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3.975
Re: Uploads fails when use the backend PLUPLOAD method
« Reply #14 on: 12.04.2021 10:55:22 »
Hmm!  Good news and bad news :) :(

Pleased it works but sad there is some config issue on your production site.
After taking a backup you could perhaps update jD to 3.9.7.3 even if you are at that version already.  You could also consider uninstalling jD but keeping darabase, files and images, then reinstalling.
Presently I am dealing with another site that somewhere has a rogue extension that is messing up the permissions.  Painfully slow to resolve.  You might need to do the same but first look at what new items were installedColin