jDownloadsownloads.com


Support-Forum

jDownloads for Joomla 3.x => jDownloads 3.2 => Bugs => Topic started by: postema on 07.12.2018 08:49:42

Title: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: postema on 07.12.2018 08:49:42
When importing a file for download via the files menu-item
and setting the access parameter this parameter is not stored and remains public instead of the selected option
setting it to the correct level in the downloads section does work
Title: Re: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: ColinM on 07.12.2018 18:11:52
Hi
Thankyou for pointing this out - Iwas able to reproduce!!As a 'quickish' workround if you Save rather than Save & Close it brings up the Edit screen where you can change the Access to what is wanted.
Colin
Title: Re: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: postema on 09.12.2018 09:12:11
thnx
Title: Re: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: Arno on 15.12.2018 10:12:49
Sorry but I could not reproduce it. For me works all correct. Colin could you give me a hint?  :-\
Title: Re: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: ColinM on 16.12.2018 11:16:06
Arno
Go to the Files option
Upload a file
Click on Files, Select the uploaded file and click on create Download
This brings up the Add Download page
Set title & Category
Access set by default to Public so set Access to other than public - in example to uploader-view
Then do Save & Close - do not use Save
Next use Downloads to give overview of the Downloads - access is set to Public, which was the default access setting, not to uploader-view.

If one repeats the process with another file and then does a Save, the Add Download page returns and one can change access to required setting.  This time Save and Close is good.

Note that in my test the Access level of the selected Category was Public - maybe that is the 'challenge'.

Colin
Title: Re: access level not set when importing via files
Post by: Arno on 17.12.2018 10:52:03
Colin,
many thanks for your detailed description.
I could now reproduce it here.  ;)

Fixed in 3.9. Also fixed in 3.2.64.